38 Replies Latest reply: Jun 10, 2014 2:52 AM by Danny Whitehead. RSS

Kerning around 1 is NEVER right!

Amikoe Community Member

Using InDesign CS6:

This has been going on for YEARS... Using the best, most traditional fonts (and as a designer I have thousands), when there's a "1" in a number (see below) and especially when that number appears in large type (like a header), or even on a business card — I find myself CONSTANTLY correcting the kerning before and after that "1"....  I'm wondering, how come?... And is there a script that can correct this globally?

Screen Shot 2014-05-08 at 9.15.53 PM.jpg

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Kerning around 1 is NEVER right!
          Ellis home Community Member

Have you tried Open Type/Proportional Lining to see if that helps you. But it could have unintended consequences with your overall layout.You could applied it globally to "1"s using Find/Change GREP.

• 2. Re: Kerning around 1 is NEVER right!
            Peter Spier ACP/MVPs

You can use GREP in find/change or as a GREP style to adjust the tracking (not the kerning), on all characters or the characters of your choice that are followed by a 1, and on the 1 when followed by the characters of your choice.

• 3. Re: Kerning around 1 is NEVER right!
              [Jongware] MVP

Amikoe wrote:

This has been going on for YEARS... Using the best, most traditional fonts (and as a designer I have thousands), when there's a "1" in a number (see below) and especially when that number appears in large type (like a header), or even on a business card — I find myself CONSTANTLY correcting the kerning before and after that "1"....  I'm wondering, how come?...