24 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2007 1:27 PM by Greg Dove

card test

mkbanister
      Hi all,
      I have been trying this for weeks now with no avail. I am not an advanced coder by any means and dont even know the best way....so many options.

I have 5 cards...each with a different symbol i.e. cross, circle, square, triangle, spiral. The user will pick from their favorite symbol....to their least favorite. Right now I have the 5 cards with numbers below them....and input text boxes where they put in the number. After they make their choices a form letter comes up with their choices in the sentances. Here is where it gets difficult.....what I would like is for them to just click the card and it will store the information (which place its in)...here is the real tricky part.......each card has a different answer depending on what place they clicked it in. i.e. If they hit the circle card first (the favorite) the answer that would fill in the blank of the form letter would say "Happy" if they hit the circle card last (least favorite) it would fill in the blank of the form letter wth "sad", I have racked my brain on this....I am only going to use the 1st, 3rd and 5th places for the calculations.

I just dont know ....variables, arrays...if then statements????? EEEEEK

var1=square

if mouse click one = square...... then Happy
      if mouse click three = square ....then Sad
      if mouse click five = square ......then Angry

answer fills in the area in the form letter

The fla is a meg...if anyone would like to see it please let me know your email and I will send it.

HELP PLEASE....before i put myself in a straight jacket lol.

Thanks in advance for any help
      M

• 1. Re: card test
          Greg Dove Level 4
          It seems like you have 2 things you want to do:

1. Record the sequence of clicks on the various cards
          2. Generate some text based on the sequence.

Both are easy enough. But just a little clarification first: