8 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2014 1:01 PM by Markh1234

Javascript for dropdown boxes

Markh1234

I'm new to Acrobat Pro XI,

I've created a form and I would like to transfer the information selected from a dropdown box , once selected, into a text box using Java script. If possible can you have 2 selections from a dropdown entered into the same text box?

I've tried various different Java scripts but they don't work. What would the correct Java be? Where should I enter it using Acrobat pro XI?

Many Thanks

Mark

• 1. Re: Javascript for dropdown boxes
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Multiple value selection is only possible with list boxes.

See currentValueIndices for a coding example.

• 2. Re: Javascript for dropdown boxes
            George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You can provide a means to copy the selected value into a textbox, and the text box could have one of more previous selections. Exactly what have you tried so far. It would be helpful to know how you've tried to set this up and what script you've tried.

• 3. Re: Javascript for dropdown boxes
              Markh1234 Level 1

Thanks for taking the time out to reply to my post,

I'm not to worried about making 2 selections from a dropdown box, at the moment I can't even do one.

I've a drop down box called "Entrance barrier 1", in the drop downbox box I have 4 or 5 drop downs.

When I select one of the drop downs I would like it to copy to a text box called "extra site hazards".

I've created my form on Adobe acrobat pro11.

I've tried various JavaScript but they don't appear to work. Would you be able to show me an example of what i'm

trying to do using my names? I'm a new to java so it's baby steps for me! Once my forms completed I'm using my

Andriod phone to fill out my form using a mobile version of Adobe. Would this change my script?

Many thanks in advance.

MArk

• 4. Re: Javascript for dropdown boxes