5 Replies Latest reply on May 15, 2007 1:28 PM by vladimirj

problems with List and ActionScript and XML Help needed!

vladimirj
      Im new to flash and im trying to build a web site using XML and PHP which communicate with mysql db and ActionScript in order to populate List component that i use as menu. I have 2 frames one called category and one subcategory. In the first there is one List component called categoryList and the second frame is a copy from the first one but now including plus another list called subcategoryList. And my problem is the following, the first categoryList is populated when the page is loaded and by clicking on item from the list the second frame is invoked and populated with the subcategories of that product.
      However this only works the first time only from Frame1 the second time in the Frame2 which is a copy of Frame2 i want to choose a product form the categoryList nothing happens i.e the subcategory list doesnt reloads (the second time im in the second frame and also have added the same on (change) listener and gotoAndStop(25) command to the same copy of the List).

Im trying to figure out why when i click on the first frame it works properly the second list is populated but when im in the second list with exactly the same code from the first it doesnt works? Do you have any idea? the XML code used in both of the frames is attached here. Please give me some suggestions.
        • 1. Re: problems with List and ActionScript and XML Help needed!
          Greg Dove Level 4
          I'm hoping I understand what you're doing... I would probably do it all in one frame and just toggle the .visible property of the subcategory list after the first one has been clicked, but there's no rules about how you do it.