5 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2014 12:23 AM by Rick Gerard

Imported mask video transparent problem

PeredyMusic

Hello. I am new to After Effects, so please forgive my stupidity. I Googled for this but I might not know the right way to word it to ask.

But... I am making a video. And I made a separate video where I used the Roto Brush to mask out the person walking. Then I saved it. That way that person can be walking in front of the stuff in it. But when I import that video, the person is at like 50% transparency. The Opacity is at 100%. If I double click on the file itself to show separate, it is not transparent at all. Can anyone help me resolve this? I don't want the person to be faded.

Many thanks.

- Running Windows 7 64 bit (if that helps at all)

• 1. Re: Imported mask video transparent problem
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Without knowing your exact render settings or what e.g. the matte after your Rotobrush looks like nobody can say anything specifically. Could be that you screwed your transparency with the RB already, could be that you simply used an unsuitable output CoDec, could be that you use a wrong footage interpretation when re-importing. Impossible to tell, since you have not told us anything about your procedures or even what version of AE you are referring to.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Imported mask video transparent problem
            PeredyMusic Level 1

My apologies. I am using CS6 for AE. And as far as those other terms.... I'm afraid I am WAYYYYY beyond even coming close to understanding what you're saying haha. I literally just got this and started with some you tube tutorials to even be able to do that. Just that mine didn't turn out like the tutorials. Not sure why. Sorry I can't answer all those things you mentioned though because I don't even know what that stuff means. Thanks for the reply though.

• 3. Re: Imported mask video transparent problem
              Todd_Kopriva Level 8