3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2014 10:30 AM by mim_Armand

Indesign (IDML file) Viewer using HTML5 and Javascript

krishnaraoveera1294 Level 1

I’m working on IDML file automation. My requirement is to showcase an IDML template in an HTML5 editor.

I have a simple TextFrame with Hello World text. I saved the file as: sample.idml. Then, I unzipped sample.idml and got a few files. Went to the stories folder and opened: story_d8.xml.

Since I’m a developer, I did this using Java and exposed the file path as a REST call. The biggest stopping point is: the jQuery/AngularJS script is saying:invalid file.

Can someone suggest options to address the points below:

1. Get Content data using JavaScript (jQuery/AngularJS)
      2. Put "Demo Hello" in the Content and regenerate story_d8.xml (using JavaScript)
      3. Is this the correct approach? Are there alternative to this approach?

Note: My Requirement is to modifying IDML file at client side (javascript) only.

• 1. Re: Indesign (IDML file) Viewer using HTML5 and Javascript
          mim_Armand Level 1

Hi @

<!DOCTYPE html>

<html>

<head>

<meta charset="utf-8">

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge">

<title></title>

</head>

<body>

<pre class="result"></pre>

<script src="//code.jquery.com/jquery-1.11.0.min.js"></script>

<script src="//cdn.jsdelivr.net/jquery.xml2json/1.2/jquery.xml2json.js" type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8" async defer></script>

<script type="text/javascript">

var mim;

$.ajax({

type: "POST",

url: "test.xml",

dataType: "xml",

success: function (data) {

mim = $.xml2json(data);

console.log(mim.Story.ParagraphStyleRange.CharacterStyleRange.Content);

}

});

</script>

</body>

</html>

mim,

• 2. Re: Indesign (IDML file) Viewer using HTML5 and Javascript
            krishnaraoveera1294 Level 1

Dear mim_armand

I tried the same. By the way, i using xml file path from tomcat7 webserver. like "url: "http://localhost:8080/APP/idemlfp/test.xml"