7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2006 9:40 PM by Bigthogski

Oval Photo Frame

Chalcydon

Hi,
      I'm new to Fireworks and there's probably a simple way of doing this. I have a rectangular photo that I want to turn into an oval photo. Another way of putting that is that I want to turn the rectangualr frame into an oval frame. How do I do that in Fireworks?
      Chalcydon
        • 1. Re: Oval Photo Frame
          llamaparsnip
          Hi Chalcydon,

you could draw your oval with the ellipse tool, cut the photo (ctrl-x) and then select the oval, click Edit > Paste Inside.
          • 2. Re: Oval Photo Frame
            Chalcydon Level 1

HI,

Have you tried this? I can't seem to get it to work. Can you explain it in more detail?
            • 3. Re: Oval Photo Frame
              Level 7
              Chalcydon wrote:
              >
              > HI,
              >
              > Have you tried this? I can't seem to get it to work. Can you explain it in more detail?

Draw a vector ellipse over the image. Once you've done that, select the
              image by clicking on it, and then cut it to the Clipboard (Edit > Cut).
              Select the ellipse by clicking on it, and choose Edit > Paste Inside.

--
              Linda Rathgeber [PVII] **Adobe Community Expert-Fireworks**
              --------------------------------------------------------------
              http://www.projectseven.com
              Fireworks Newsgroup: news://forums.projectseven.com/fireworks/
              CSS Newsgroup: news://forums.projectseven.com/css/
              Design Aid Kits: http://www.webdevbiz.com/pwf/index.cfm
              • 4. Re: Oval Photo Frame
                Chalcydon Level 1

Hi,

OK. I've got an oval around my photo, but I still have a rectangle around the oval. Outside of the oval and inside of the rectangle I have white edges. Is there some way of removing those edges. Thanks for your help!
                • 5. Re: Oval Photo Frame