9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2014 4:00 PM by mmvalk

Soft proofing and Out of Gamut warning

mmvalk

I like to use Blurb for a perfect photo book. I am an amateur photographer but like the most of my pictures on paper.
      What's the perfect workflow for soft proofing ?

A friend of me has calibrated my screen (Thunderbolt Apple screen).

My current methode :
      I take a picture in RAW with AdobeRGB profile setting, i adjust a few parameters in Lightroom and then go to Photoshop and start de soft proofing with the Blurb-ICC profile.
      The result with soft proofing is like there's a white mist over the picture. Then i try to optimize this with various parameters.

When i try the soft proofing with the Blurb ICC profile + out of Gamut warning option .... there are many colors out of gamut .

My second methode :
      When i import the raw picture in photoshop cc and i convert the picture to the Blurb profile, then there are no out of gamut colors but everything is in CMYK.

Is this a good way for perfect photo books in Blurb ?

Or must i ignore the out of gamut colors ?

Is it better to make my pictures in sRGB ?

When i want to save the end result in Photoshop cc ( jpeg for Blurb )  must i enclose the Blurb ICC (when in CMYK) , Adobe RGB or sRGB profile (when in RGB)  ?

Please help me make a perfect photobook 
      Mario

• 1. Re: Soft proofing and Out of Gamut warning
          Level 5

Since I don't know what "Blurb" is, I'm going to assume that's your printing service somewhere, and that they have provided you with their target printer profile.

What you describe under current method is absolutely normal, expected behavior.  Adobe RGB simply is a much larger color space than whatever this Blurb profile is.