6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2014 6:30 AM by entilza

Imported still image looks washed out against original source video

entilza

Hi team,

Total newbie to AE, so please allow for annoying cluelessness.   Using AE 12.2.1.55

I need to "digitally erase" some brand names in a shot. I decided to motion track the shot, and add a transparent layer that has photoshopped "blobs" that covered the brand names.

In AE I take the original Prores 4444 file, then go to Composition -> Save Frame As -> Photoshop Layers to export a still frame.  Then in PS (using sRGB IEC61966-2.1 profile) I load the PSD, and proceeded to make layers where I drew over the top of the brand names on the still. I turn off the original background layer, leaving only "floating" painted objects on a transparent background. The work was a close match in photoshop and almost undetectable to my eye.

But when I re-import the PSD into AE as a layer with no adjustments, I get the result below (specifically, the pink blobs where they should be almost invisible red blobs):

gamma-problem-eg.jpg

It is as if the gamma is out, or a color profile is wrong.  But I do not know how that could be, given the process I used above hasn't changes any levels, gammas or settings. I also tried importing as a PNG in case there was a bug with the PSD import, but it's the same result.

Does anyone know what is going on here?  Any suggestions on how to fix?

Thanks!

Ent

• 1. Re: Imported still image looks washed out against original source video
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

But I do not know how that could be, given the process I used above hasn't changes any levels, gammas or settings.

Sure it has. AE by default is unmanged like most video apps are. Assigning any color profiles in PS therefore will require to use the same profiles in AE for correct results. That and of course merely assigning a specific colro profile has nothing to do with proper color management in the first place...

Mylenium