5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2014 12:18 PM by NichtNummer1

Script to change what part of the image is shown

NichtNummer1

Hello,

is it possible to script "scrolling" to a specific part on any image?

For example, that the bottom right corner of the image is at the center of the view.

I am fairly new to Photoshop scripting, and I did not find any way to change the main view while looking through the Javascript Reference and Scripting Guide (or did I miss it?).

We are using Photoshop CS4.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Script to change what part of the image is shown
          c.pfaffenbichler Level 9

Documents have a property called "center" that can be assessed via Action Manager code, I don’t know how to feed it back, though.

Also I don’t think the Window’s dimensions are available, so it might be no use either way.

// 2014, use it at your own risk;

#target photoshop

if (app.documents.length > 0) {

var ref = new ActionReference();

ref.putEnumerated( charIDToTypeID("Dcmn"), charIDToTypeID("Ordn"), charIDToTypeID("Trgt") );

var docDesc = executeActionGet(ref);

var theCenter = docDesc.getObjectValue (stringIDToTypeID("center"));

checkDesc2(theCenter);

};

////// based on code by michael l hale //////

function checkDesc2 (theDesc) {

var c = theDesc.count;

var str = '';

for(var i=0;i<c;i++){ //enumerate descriptor's keys

str = str + 'Key '+i+' = '+typeIDToStringID(theDesc.getKey(i))+': '+theDesc.getType(theDesc.getKey(i))+'\n'+getValues (theDesc, i)+'\n';

};

alert("desc\n\n"+str);

};

////// check //////

function getValues (theDesc, theNumber) {

switch (theDesc.getType(theDesc.getKey(theNumber))) {

case DescValueType.BOOLEANTYPE:

return theDesc.getBoolean(theDesc.getKey(theNumber));

break;

case DescValueType.CLASSTYPE:

return theDesc.getClass(theDesc.getKey(theNumber));

break;

case DescValueType.DOUBLETYPE:

return theDesc.getDouble(theDesc.getKey(theNumber));

break;

case DescValueType.ENUMERATEDTYPE: