6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2014 6:20 AM by LimWW

Why does pre-rendered footage get re-rendered again for every playback or preview?

LimWW

Dear Sir/Mdm,

I'm a novice, please bear with me.

I'm using an Asus laptop with:

1. CPU: Intel i5-3337U @ 1.80 GHz (4 CPUs)

2. OS: Windows 8.1 64 bits (6.3, Build 9600)

3. RAM: 8 GB

4. DirectX: Version 11

5. On-board Graphics: Intel HD 4000

6. Dedicated Graphics:  GeForce GT 740M

7. Dedicated video memory: 2048 MB DDR3

8. Nvidia Driver version: 6.14.13.3523

9. Total available graphics memory: 4096 MB

I hoped to avoid repeated rendering of footage segments during RAM previews, scrub-through, or playbacks.

I pre-composed related layers of completed segments and pre-rendered the pre-comp, which gave a footage (in AVI format) to replace the pre-comp.

But when I scrub-through, playback (spacebar), or do RAM previews, the pre-rendered footage gets re-rendered again (for every scrub-through/preview/playback).

Need advice.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Why does pre-rendered footage get re-rendered again for every playback or preview?
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What exact version of After Effects are you using (including the decimals)?

What are your memory and multiprocessing settings?

What are your cache settings?

You have very little RAM for working in After Effects, I would highly recommend getting more, if possible.

Side note: I never use the spacebar in AE.

• 2. Re: Why does pre-rendered footage get re-rendered again for every playback or preview?
            bogiesan Level 4

If you apply any effects or transformations to your movie, it must be rendered.

If your AVI is being used in a comp that uses a different compressor or pixel aspect ratio, it will need to be rendered.

If your movie is the source or fill or background for any effect on any other layer it will be rendered.

• 3. Re: Why does pre-rendered footage get re-rendered again for every playback or preview?