5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2014 9:59 AM by sgavano

AE CC preformance

sgavano

Hello.  This is my first time asking a questions here on the forums. You usually cover all the questions I would ever want, but thought I would ask since i have a question specific to my machine specs. I have general question about AE performance.  At work, I just got a new machine that is very fast, yet AE struggles previewing a single frame on quarter resolution.

Here are the system specs:

• Windows 7 Pro 64bit on a SSD harddrive
      • 32 GB of Ram
      • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 with 4GB of ram on it
      • Separate WD terabyte harddrive for disk cache
      • Intel Core i7 @ 3.4 GHZ

I have loaded AE CC and it starts within 2 seconds. I load my local aep file, and it takes another few seconds. However, Ram previewing takes forever, around 20 seconds per frame.  The footage is under 100mb, so I am dumbfounded. The only effect I am using is a luma map created by a fractal. I tried resetting the preferences by holding Ctrl+Alt+Shift, but AE loads too fast, I can't get the dialog box to appear. (Any way to reset without using that method?)

Any suggestions for preferences that would capitalize on the ram and system power of this machine?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: AE CC preformance
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What exact version of CC are you running? Is it 12.2.1.5?

What format and codec is the footage you're using? Highly compressed video files (which yours sounds like it is) actually requires AE to work a lot harder than if the video were uncompressed (or in a proper, intermediate production codec like DNxHD).

Why are you not using the SSD for your cache? It is recommended to use your fastest drive for AE's cache.

What are your memory and multiprocessing settings?

• 2. Re: AE CC preformance
            sgavano Level 1

Thank you Szalam for your response.

I am running the latest version, 12.2.1.5.