4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2014 6:24 PM by Ellis home

Hindu documents in indesign

Arlene Eisen

Anyone have any fixes for Hindu fonts? Small outlined boxes are added over the commas when I do a PDF conversion.

Can't get a PDF conversion from the original indesign document, so I am outlining the type and then I do get a conversion but with problem stated above.

HELP!

• 1. Re: Hindu documents in indesign
          Ellis home Level 4

What font are you using? Have you tried a different font? I've used Adobe Devanagari and Mangal among others with no problems. Are you using Adobe World-Ready Paragraph Composer? What version of Indesign are you using, Mac/Windows?

• 2. Re: Hindu documents in indesign
            Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

I have no experience with Hindu font, so I cannot answer here, but some developer from InDesign might answer here.

But I saw that you will outline font to get a PDF. This alerted me to warn you: Don't do it! It is dangerous, because it will destroy not only the ditablity, which you will know, it will also

• remove all frame strokes
            • remove all frame colors
            • remove automatic bullets and numbers
            • remove underlines and strikethrough
            • remove prargraph rules
            • cause problems with cross references
            • impossible to do we text with variables on the master
            • and hundreds more of changes you really don't want to dream, that your document might have these problems.
            • 3. Re: Hindu documents in indesign
              Arlene Eisen Level 1

Indesign CC Version 9.2.1 using Adobe World-Ready Paragraph Composer!

Font is Kruti Dev11 I am on a mac using Mavericks.

I receive a Word doc with the translation and paste it into indesign. It comes in fine, but when I try to make a PDF, it doesn't do anything. So I outlined the type and then it will make a PDF, but it is adding some boxes over the commas.