8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2014 7:29 AM by ECBowen

Mac Pro System Optimization

dsaguilar88

I recently received the Mac Pro I ordered from Apple, and as of now it doesn't seem much faster or more efficient than the Macbook Pro I've been using for the last two years or so.

Here are the specs I ordered for my Mac Pro:

• 3.5GHz 6-core with 12MB of L3 cache
      • 32GB (4x8GB) of 1866MHz DDR3 ECC
      • 256GB PCIe-based flash storage
      • Dual AMD FirePro D500GPUs with 3GB of GDDR5 VRAM each

The Macbook Pro I'd been using only had 16GB of RAM, but I had all my applications/OSX on an internal 240GB SSD, and had replaced my disc drive for a 7200rpm 750GB hard drive--to which I set my scratch disks and project files/occasionally stored assets.

Most of the media I use is accessed on G-Technology EV drives via USB 3.0 or the Thunderbolt EV Dock.

I'm not sure if it would be best to have a dedicated Thunderbolt EV drive connected for my scratch disks, project files, preview files, cache, etc...since I don't have the option of having two internal drives with the MacPro.

Any recommendations on drive delegation and system settings would be greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Mac Pro System Optimization
          Jim_Simon Level 8

[Moved to Hardware forum.]

• 2. Re: Mac Pro System Optimization
            ECBowen Most Valuable Participant

I would suggest atleast a 2 Bay Thunderbolt Dock and definitely move the media, project, and preview files over to that. Raid 0 would give you the ideal performance but without redundancy. Make sure you keep your media and projects backed up.

Eric

ADK

• 3. Re: Mac Pro System Optimization
              jasonvp Level 3

dsaguilar88 wrote:

I'm not sure if it would be best to have a dedicated Thunderbolt EV drive connected for my scratch disks, project files, preview files, cache, etc.