5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2014 9:25 AM by A.T. Romano

Unstable timeline movement using FireWire audio (MOTU 828mk3)

roccoba

I'm using a 32 bit system with Windows 7 Home Premium and Service Pack 1. An AVI that I captured with my DV camera will not play in Premiere Elements. I can see the time line making a loop every 10 seconds or less whenever I use FireWire for audio. If I use Windows Sound Card, it plays well.

The same AVI plays well on Windows Media Player with or without the FireWire audio interface.

I'm new to Adobe but have used AVID Liquid Pro before. It seems like I'm missing a CODEC but I'm not sure if that is the problem. NOTHING plays right with the FireWire Audio selected regardless of the many settings I have tried.

Thanks,

Joseph Balsamo

• 1. Re: Unstable timeline movement using FireWire audio (MOTU 828mk3)
          A.T. Romano Level 7

Joseph Balsamo

Premiere Elements, what version, on Windows 7 32 bit?

What are you trying to do - DV 4:3 Data firewire capture  into Premiere Elements Capture Window?

I am unfamiliar with the firewire interface that you are working with. From what I have read "MOTU 828 mR3" is Firewire with USB 2 audio interface. Typically anything USB and non firewire does not work in DV or HDV data Capture firewire into Premiere Elements Capture Window.

If you use a firewire cable between your miniDV camcorder firewire port and the computer firewire port can you capture firewire into Premiere Elements set with the appropriate project preset?

You describe your device as Firewire audio interface. I read of it, Firewire with USB 2 audio interface. Which is it?

Thanks.

ATR

• 2. Re: Unstable timeline movement using FireWire audio (MOTU 828mk3)
            roccoba Level 1

I'm using Premiere Elements 12.

The 828mk3 is a FireWire audio interface. I'm actually using IEEE 1384 connection vs USB. I use it for my audio (PC to mixing board) mostly for Sonar.