9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2014 10:16 PM by Silkrooster

Problems with Layers

MichelleMcMaster

Hi,

I am very new to photoshop and am already hung up on the first thing I tried to do....layers.  I am using an online tutorial and following exactly what he does but for some reason it's not working.

So I start with my background, then add my first layer.  My background layer is locked and my layer 1 is not.  I tried using my spot healing brush in my layer 1 and nothing happens. I use the spot healing brush on my background layer and the changes occur, but they occur on both the background AND my layer 1!!!

Just to make matters even stranger, I then tried using my paintbrush and was able to paint a colour on my layer 1 which works, but it also puts the colour on my background???  Very strange.

Please help!!!

• 1. Re: Problems with Layers
          Trevor.Dennis Adobe Community Professional

I guess the learning curve can look disconcertingly steep for the first time user.

Things like the Healing brush can be set to work on Current, Current and below, or All by using the drop down in the Options bar.  Same thing for the Clone tool.

You could think of layers like drawing on sheets of transparent plastic.  The top most sheet will hide things drawn on underlying sheets where the top most sheet has been drawn upon.

You can turn layers off, and you can change their order in the layer's panel, just as if shuffling the imaginary sheets of clear plastic.

There some excellent tutorials here, but scroll on down to the Basics rather than start at the top of the list.

Learn Photoshop CC | Adobe TV

Good luck.  You are setting out on a fantastic journey, and a journey where you will never stop learning new things.

• 2. Re: Problems with Layers
            MichelleMcMaster Level 1

Hi Trevor,

Thanks for the quick reply!  Yes it is going to be a very steep learning curve by the looks.  And to be hung up on the very first thing I try?  Very disheartening.