13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2014 4:35 PM by A.T. Romano

Question about saving Adobe Premier Elements Project files in Premier Elements 12?

KM Aerial Views

I am fairly new to video editing and am a little confused about saving my Adobe Premier Elements Projects.  I am asking because I would like to take my video files off of my computer and put them onto an external HD because of their large file sizes.  But I would like to know what I need to save so that my Adobe Premier Elements Project can be re-opened properly.  Do I need to save the (Adobe Premiere Elements Auto-Save, Adobe Premiere Elements Preview Files, Adobe Premiere Elements Preview Files, Adobe Premiere Elements Preview Files, and the LRV’s and the THM’s)?  Any info would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: Question about saving Adobe Premier Elements Project files in Premier Elements 12?
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Read Bill Hunt on project setup http://forums.adobe.com/thread/919388?tstart=0 for one idea of making a project relatively easy to move

• 2. Re: Question about saving Adobe Premier Elements Project files in Premier Elements 12?
            KM Aerial Views Level 1

Hello John.  Thanks for the quick reply.  But I really don't understand what needs to be saved when backing it up to an external HD?  I saved all the project parts along with the saved Adobe Elements Premier Project in one folder and then dragged it onto an external HD.  I then deleted the folder that was on my computer to the Recycle Bin.  I then tried opening the Project from the folder that I had placed in my external HD and it did not work.  It asked me where the project was rendered?  Any ideas?

Thanks,

Keith

• 3. Re: Question about saving Adobe Premier Elements Project files in Premier Elements 12?
              A.T. Romano Level 7

Keith

What computer operating system are you running Premiere Elements 12 on? For now I will assume Windows 7, 8, or 8.1 64 bit.