18 Replies Latest reply: Jun 10, 2014 6:27 AM by Eugene Tyson RSS

Constant Crashing in Indesign

daisygirl_79 Community Member

I am running Indesign CC on a Windows 7 PC.

I am a magazine designer and i build 100 page documents and work on a single document for 2 months at a time. Of late i am constantly having problems with my files crashing when i am trying to move content from one document to the other. I save back up copies and split documents in two and none of this is helping. It is constantly happening to my documents.

I have tried a variety of ways of moving content from one file to another to try and stop it form happening.

I have rebuilt whole 100 page magazine files to try and fix corrupt documents but then the same thing happens with my new documents. I have uni-stalled and re-installed Indesign too to try and save a whole magazine file. I

What is going on and what can i do to fix this? I am wasting HOURS trying to work around Indesigns constant problems.

I pay so much for the use of the software and all it does it waste my time, it is driving me bloody crazy.!! Does this happen with anyone else??

I have no confidence now after working on a magazine for 2 months that the next time i open it the file is going to be okay to work with.

HELP!! So frustrated

• 1. Re: Constant Crashing in Indesign
          P Spier CommunityMVP

First, see Remove minor corruption by exporting

Second, if you are updating legacy files, it works better if you export the originals to .idml or .inx in the original version and convert that. If that's not possible, export to .idml immediately after opening a legacy file.

Third, do a Save As to a new new name (I use versioning numbers for a back-up chain) at every major change change point or at the end of each editing session. This clears out useless change data that becomes inaccessible and leads to file bloat and potential corruption as well as providing the built-in backup chain in case something goes wrong.