3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2014 8:03 AM by D Fosse

free cs2 version colors do not appear the same as my store bought cs2 version - tried everything

superquail

i am running a fresh version of windows 8.1 on a new computer - i was running win xp on an older comp. when i went to install my old photoshop cs2 version i was forced to download a free cs2 version because mine isn't supported anymore. I did a compatibility check as well on win 8 VS CS2 on several different sites and they all come up saying it functions fine. It appeared to, but now i've got an issue. Aside from the register screen not going away (i registered successfully, it still comes back - i chose don't register next, it still comes back), i've got some color issues. firstly - please understand I am not a techie by any means so i hope my terminology and description makes sense.

I have an old web project i completed in CS2 on my win xp OS and store bought software. it's perfect - the way i want it. now, when i open any of the same files on the new computer in win 8 with this free cs2 version - the blue colors are all purple. in cs2 right before opening the jpgs - the thumbnails appear ok until i click the file once - which then shows the thumbnail in the adobe's 'area' with the purple colors - and yes, the files all open in photoshop with the wrong purple colors as well. outside of photoshop, windows 8 and all related software show these files correctly - even online the website appears normal - the way i originally made it - asking some friends what they see, the feedback seems to be correct. if i draw something in the wrong purple tint and publish it on the web, it appears on the web in the correct blue i wanted in the first place.