7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2014 2:25 AM by Danny Whitehead.

Placed .png files in look blurry in InDesign CS6 & output PDF

abloodworth

I'm brand new to InDesign...just learned it yesterday. I'm using CS6. However, I think I'm following best practices as I've watched many instructional videos and have a folder of images I'm using in the document which I place in the document using "File" -> "Place." I've both put them into frames that already exist (and used "Object" -> "Fitting" and often "Fit frame proportionally" but also other commands) as well as without a frame where I drag a window the size I'd like the file to be after I've loaded up my cursor using "File" -> "Place."

I'm at a loss as my files are 72 DPI and 144 DPI (I'm on a Mac and have checked them out both in Photoshop and using "Tools" -> "Inspector" in Preview) and I have NO idea why they look so terrible in both InDesign and my output pdf! I'm attaching both the files I'm placing and screenshots of what they look like in the output .PDF.

Thanks SO MUCH for any help anyone can give me--I'm working on an urgent project and must figure this out!

ver6_Canvas 3_addl features.pngScreen Shot 2014-06-15 at 11.22.54 PM.png

Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 12.38.01 PM.png

Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 12.38.06 PM.png

• 1. Re: Placed .png files in look blurry in InDesign CS6 & output PDF
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

First, by default, ID uses a low-resolution preview on screen. You can change that with View > Display Performance > High Quality Display (and you can make this the Default in your preferences).