4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2014 2:46 PM by A.T. Romano

effects mask trying to blur out subject ruins my neat video of the clip puts it in the blur spot?

norman sands photography

I am new to video editing I have an interview that had terrible noise. So I purchased neat video plug in. I used the plug in on the clip. then when i try to use a effects mask to blur me out of the interview it puts the noise reduction in the effects mask also. I know I must be doing something basic wrong !

Can anyone help me please!

I am grateful for any help!

Thanks

Norman Sands

• 1. Re: effects mask trying to blur out subject ruins my neat video of the clip puts it in the blur spot?
          A.T. Romano Level 7

norman sands photography

What version of Premiere Elements are you using and on what computer operating system is it running?

For the moment I will assume that you are using Premiere Elements 12 on Windows 7, 8, or 8.1 64 bit.

I do not have Neat Video Filter, but if I apply fx Effects/Advanced Adjustments/Channel Mixer to the selected

clip (my attempted counterpart of your Neat Video Filter), and then aim for Clip Menu/Effects Mask, the minute

I hit Apply, the clip loses the Channel Mixer effect.

So far, I have tried some variations but the only one that is working for me right now with regard to what you seek

is

a. Apply the Neat Video Filter to your clip.

b. Export that Timeline clip in a format compatible with the project.

c. Import the exported clip back into the project and then apply the Effects Mask to

which you apply the Gaussian Blur effect.

I will explore some more ideas shortly.

I am not sure of what you are seeing when you wrote

I used the plug in on the clip. then when i try to use a effects mask to blur me out of the interview it puts the noise reduction in the effects mask also.

Please review my blog post on About Effects Mask

ATR Premiere Elements Troubleshooting: PE: About Effects Mask