5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2014 10:55 AM by JFPhoton

Need help picking a laptop to compliment my desktop for video editing

jbg1194

I have a desktop (i7 4770K, Radeon 280x) that I do my video editing on. As a college student who is constantly doing group video projects and studio projects as a lead editor, I constantly find myself wanting to have a laptop to edit on for those kind of projects so I would be able to take my project with me and work on it wherever I go and not be confined to my desk for group projects. I also work as an assistant video coordinator for my school's football team, where we strictly use Macs and Final Cut Pro 7 for our videos ( I have been doing my editing at home on my PC instead of in the office since I prefer Premiere).

For these reasons I have been looking into getting a laptop for video editing to compliment my desktop. Ideally I want to stay in the $400-$600 range but I have enough saved up to go up to $1000-$1100 if I need to spend that much to get what I need.

I am wondering what kind of performance I could expect from a 4th gen i5 U or M processor or an i7 U processor since they are weaker dual cores? Would they be enough to edit 1080p/i AVCHD footage smoothly and efficiently? I know they wont be as fast as a quad core i7 and I am not looking for super fast speed, but would it still be somewhat fast or would it just be plain 'ol slow?

As of right now, I just have a hard time justifying spending $1000+ on a laptop when I just spent $1200 last year on a Desktop that I use for editing/gamimg/casual web browsing.

TLDR: Would laptop with an i5 4200U/4200M or i7 4500U processor be able to edit 1080p/i AVCHD footage at a decent speed? Or should I just shell out the extra $400-$500 and get a nice quad core i7 with a dedicated video card?

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Need help picking a laptop to compliment my desktop for video editing
          Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP