8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2014 11:18 AM by Obi-wan Kenobi

How to prepare equations for InDesign layout

jeannetheeditor

I am an editor and plan to work with an independent author to self-publish his book about financial markets. The manuscript was created in Word 2010 and contains many, many equations and variables that were created in Word's equation tools.

After a little research I am finding out that the only way to get the equations and variables to render correctly in an e-book is to convert each one to an image. That will be a huge undertaking!

I am also curious about how it will work to lay out the book in InDesign for paperback production. In a previous discussion in this forum (more than a year old), it seems the consensus is that MathType is the best way to go. I don't know anything about MathType and am looking for advice about how to proceed.

I need to know what I can do at this early stage to best prepare the manuscript for both paperback and e-book production. I will begin the first-pass edit within the next couple of weeks and would like to plan ahead for a smooth work flow. Any advice would be appreciated!

• 1. Re: How to prepare equations for InDesign layout
          MrMathType Level 2

Jeanne, since the manuscript is in Word 2010 format, we have some tips on our website that should prove useful: Design Science: MathType Works With InDesign.

• 2. Re: How to prepare equations for InDesign layout
            Obi-wan Kenobi Adobe Community Professional

Take a look to MathMagic too!    … and there's no consensus: MathType is not really the best solution. It's a solution but not only.

[I'm not MrMathMagic, don't work for this company but make books pages for a while ...]

• 3. Re: How to prepare equations for InDesign layout
              Fede Gianni Level 3