13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2014 9:54 AM by A.T. Romano

When I add media from my dLink surveillance camera, the avi files always land in audio instead of the video area. Why, and how can I get them to land as visual?

loriflori

I am trying to edit some of the surveillance videos taken from our dLink camera of the dogs playing when we are not home, but when I import the .avi files, it always just goes to the audio portion (of Premiere Elements 11) and nothing shows up as video. What am I doing wrong? Please know, I am completely new at this program, since I bought it for the purpose of playing with my dLink home camera videos and haven't been able to do a single thing with them as of yet due to how they are importing. I did "get media" from my Bloggie camera to see if that worked, and it did come across as a video and not just audio, so I am not sure why the other isn't working.

• 1. Re: When I add media from my dLink surveillance camera, the avi files always land in audio instead of the video area. Why, and how can I get them to land as visual?
          A.T. Romano Level 7

loriflori

Your issue probably resides in the compatibility Premiere Elements 11 and the video compression of your .avi file. From what you wrote, the audio appears to be supported and is being imported but not the video compression.

There are many types of .avi files. AVI is just a wrapper format that wraps/contains the video and audio compressions of the file. Video compressions that are particularly a problem for Premiere Elements include

Xvid.avi

MotionJPEG.avi

AVCHD.avi

DV AVI if type 1 instead of type 2

Please download and install the GSpot utility which should give us name, codec, status for the video compression of the file.

http://www.headbands.com/gspot/

In the meanwhile I will go online to see what I can find out about your surveillance camera recording formats. The solution may be to