8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 14, 2018 8:20 AM by jebliv

Auto-resize text boxes to fit new margins

Federicopr Level 1

I am working with a 300 plus page document and I need to auto-resize all the text boxes to new margins.  I can't afford to start a new document with the new settings since it has become too complex to start over again.   I am a novice user so forgive my ignorance. Any help will be appreciated.

• 1. Re: Auto-resize text boxes to fit new margins
          rajsre Adobe Employee

If you have used "primary text frame" for text flow, this is what you need to do:

Go to master pages, set the new margins and adjust the primary frames to the margins.

Text frames on all pages should follow the master settings.

• 2. Re: Auto-resize text boxes to fit new margins
            TᴀW Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Select all the pages that need adjusting in the pages panel (better

still -- if they've got a master applied to them, select the relevant

master pages).

Then, go to Layout>Margins and columns, and check the checkbox that says

"Layout adjustment" to turn on layout adjustment.

Then modify the margins as you wish, and all text frames that lie on the

margins will adjust along with the margins (however, any text frames

that do not lie on the margins will stay where they are).

• 3. Re: Auto-resize text boxes to fit new margins
              Federicopr Level 1

I am working with CS5 so still using master text frames.

• 4. Re: Auto-resize text boxes to fit new margins
                Federicopr Level 1

Thanks Ariel! that did it.  I will have to work manually the frames that were not touching the margins, but that is a major relief.  got to keep learning basic stuff.  thanks again.

• 6. Re: Auto-resize text boxes to fit new margins
                  eedeycv Level 1