8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 4, 2014 3:38 PM by A.T. Romano

Why Doesn't Premiere Elements 12 Recognize My Sony AVCHD Camera?

Rickster213 Level 1

This is my first attempt at using Premiere Elements 12.  Unfortunately, it is not recognizing my Sony HDR AVCHD format camera.  It uses a san disk.  I get a message "No supported devices detected".  It does find the jpg photos, though.

So I directly loaded the MTS files onto my iMac and created a DVD.  It looked pretty good, but not as good as playing the camera directly on a TV.  I found something on another Adobe site that indicated if there were problems with Premiere reading from the card that the files could be loaded to the hard drive.  It said "Be sure to copy the entire file structure of the card instead if just the clips".  I'm not sure what that means.  All I did was download the MTS files.

So I really have 2 questions here -

1 - why doesn't Premiere recognize my camera

2- Is there something on the san card I missed downloading that could improve the quality of the DVD being created?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. 

• 1. Re: Why Doesn't Premiere Elements 12 Recognize My Sony AVCHD Camera?
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

All versions of Premiere (Elements and Pro) will only CAPTURE using Firewire, for other cameras read below (about Premiere Pro, but the PROCESS is the same to get everything from camera to computer)

Metadata contained in folder http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1015001?tstart=0

-and http://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/using/transferring-importing-files.html

-http://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/using/importing-assets-tapeless-formats.html

You do understand that you are going from HiDef to Standard Definition to create a DVD... so you are losing a LOT of video quality?

Comparison picture of video screen sizes http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1120039

• 2. Re: Why Doesn't Premiere Elements 12 Recognize My Sony AVCHD Camera?
            A.T. Romano Level 7