3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2014 7:32 PM by hags247

How to change white objects to different colors

hags247

This may sound pretty stupid, but I am new to after effects and am trying to change the color of a white shirt to a different color. More specifically, I am working on a video project that has kids popping balloons and changing the color of their shirts to the color of the balloon. I can get all the other shirts to change color except a white one. Any ideas on how I can do this?

Also, is there a way to change multiple items within the same frame?

Thank you for your help!

• 1. Re: How to change white objects to different colors
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

hags247 wrote:

Also, is there a way to change multiple items within the same frame?

Yes. How are you doing the color change?

If you're new to AE, you should really start here: Getting started with After Effects

Changing white to any color is rather tricky. Could you show us an example still of the image you are trying to change?

• 2. Re: How to change white objects to different colors
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Biggest problem, it's hard to change white to anything without doing some kind of overlay.

Suggested solutions:

1. Duplicate the footage so you have a copy of the original, roto out the white shirts so they are all on a separate layer, add a colored shape layer over each shirt and change the blend mode to color
            2. See the first suggestion but put each shirt on a separate layer
            3. Use CC 14, add a mask over each shirt and track the mask, then apply a color effect like Fill or Hue Saturation and use the Effects Masking tool introduced in CC 14
            4. If none of these suggestions work then post a screenshot of your footage and explain what is happening in the shot so we can get a better idea of what problems you are facing