5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2014 8:27 PM by KNEverett

Inconsistent Word Spacing

KNEverett

I'm relatively new to InDesign, so please bear with me.

I have a document created with the following setup:

Intent: Dig Pub

Page Size: Kindle Fire / Nook

Margins: 24 px (chained)

Columns: 1

Gutter: 12 px

On all but the first and last page I have a text frame which spans the top edge of the page:

X - 24 px

Y - 24 px

W - 976 px

H - 53 px

The frames contain title text for each page.  Depending on the page the text is either left or right justified.  The text rarely, if ever, fills more than half the width of the frame.  When viewed in InDesign, the space between each word appears uniform.  I export the document as a fixed layout ePub with Spread Control set to Based on Document Setup.

Results:

When I  view this with the PC based Kindle Previewer client, the word spacing still appears uniform and consistent with the view in the editor UI.  When viewed with the PC client based Kindle Reader, the word spacing / gap is also uniform and consistent with the EDI. 

Issue:

When I move the same mobi file to my ASUS tablet and view it with the Android Kindle viewer, the text in the title frames has huge gaps between some of the words and the spacing between words varies widely within any single line of text.  When I use the KDP online viewer to review the eBook, it has the same behavior.

I tried adjusting the Justification attributes of the title text paragraph style to set Word  Spacing to 100% for Min, Desired and Max.

QUESTION:

How can I prevent the text from spreading out with non-uniform word spacing regardless of viewer / device?

• 1. Re: Inconsistent Word Spacing
          Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What version of InDesign? What computer platform?

Are you using the Kindle plug-in for InDesign to produce output, or are you creating an EPUB and using Kindle Previewer to gene ate the .mobi file?

• 2. Re: Inconsistent Word Spacing