7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2014 7:22 AM by dj_paige

Lightroom 5.5x

DrArtie K-CRESLI Level 1

Earlier this evening I updated to the latest Camera Raw data.  Now Lightroom 5.5x has become completely locked upon opening any catalogue.  I need help to 1- figure out if these events are related and 2- how to fix Lightroom. I am a whale biologist and this is my field season, and I rely on Lightroom; actually my work of nearly 30 years is critically dependent upon Lightroom - PLEASE Help

• 1. Re: Lightroom 5.5x
          Geoff the kiwi Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Camera Raw is a Plug In for Photoshop, is that what you downloaed?? That has no bearing on Lightroom at all as the camera raw engine is built into Lightroom and as such is not a plig in.

Tell us your system, etc....... Try opening another catalog or a new one by holding the option/alt key upon starting Lightroom.

• 2. Re: Lightroom 5.5x
            DrArtie K-CRESLI Level 1

Thanks.  My system is running Windows 8.1 Pro, 12 GB RAM, 2TB HDD, Intel i7 processor, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti graphics card.

After updating Windows and rebooting, I was able to create a new catalog, then open other catalogs, however, after opening the catalog that became "stuck", the problem returned.  Now, when I try to open any other catalog, I am returned to the offending one, since it obviously didn't close properly.  I will reboot, and create a different catalog.  Since the problem one is small (4500 photos, as opposed to my research catalogs with over 20,00 each) I will recreate it and discard the offending one.  I hope this works.

If you have further insights please let me know.  I've been using Lightroom since version 1 and didn't have a problem like this until version 4, which forced me to recreate all my catalogs.  Let's hope I don't have to.