4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2014 10:48 AM by MatLac

How do I add variables to different checkboxes without using the 'Export Value' and then add them together (if checked)?

RobynDahl

Hello,

I am very new to JavaScript.  I would like to create a checkbox with a numerical value variable activated if the box is checked.  Unfortunately, I cannot use the 'Export Value' because I already need to use it for something else.

Any help is really appreciated.

Thanks,

Robyn

• 1. Re: How do I add variables to different checkboxes without using the 'Export Value' and then add them together (if checked)?
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

A check-box can have only 1 export value. You will need to write a code that checks if the box is ticked, using the isBoxChecked method or the value property, and then base your calculation off of that.

• 2. Re: How do I add variables to different checkboxes without using the 'Export Value' and then add them together (if checked)?
            MatLac Level 1

If you need a second export value, and a numerical value is the best one, you can trick your checkboxes by using a part of their name as the second export value.  For example, if you have checkBox.1 (export value = A) and checkBox.2 (export value = B), you can use something like this:

if (event.target.isBoxChecked(0) == true){

var exportValue = event.value;

var secondExportValue = Number(event.target.name.replace("checkBox.", ""));

}

What I did was checking if the box is checked and if so, I placed it's value in a variable.  Then, I got the name of the box and replaced the first part of it with an empty value leaving only the number as a string.  Finally, placing it in Number() will turn it to number for you to make calculations via a second variable.  In this example, all numbers need to be different as the names should be different.