12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2014 3:56 PM by rob day

Exporting PDF format for web viewing, fonts look bad

mblaney Level 1

Hey everybody I'm relatively new to indesign so sorry if this is a simple one. I'm doing a newsletter in indesign, which will be used stricktly for web viewing. Whenever I export the file as a pdf the body text fonts look a bit off, as though they are slightly pixelated around the edges. This is not as noticable in the artcile titles with larger font, but any smaller font (i'm using size 14, and futura book) and it gets this pixelation, it is even more noticeable in the thinner type sets of the font. Another odd thing is the first page of the newsletter the fonts are more messed up looking than the following pages where the same font types and sizes are used, the only major difference is the first page has a photo on it, but the fonts that look weird are below the photo not overlaying it or anything like that. I turned off all the compression on the pdf export, also tried it will varying amounts of compression but still have the same issue. And I am viewing this in Mac's Preview program, not acrobat.

• 1. Re: Exporting PDF format for web viewing, fonts look bad
          Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant
          1. First of all: Apple Preview is NOT a proper PDF viewer as it supports only a substandard of the PDF standard, a lot of PDFs are shown wrong in Apple Preview. Avoid using this program in reading PDFs, use Adobe Reader or Adobe Acrobat.
          2. Did you use transparency with your font? Take care that all text elements are above transparency, I would recommend to put the on their own layer and put this layer to the top most.
          3. To go more into your problem, we would need some more important information as there are:
            • Which version of InDesign?
            • OS?
            • How did you create your PDF? Export or Print? Which Export?