3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2007 2:13 PM by bmont

Newbie Problem With View State Transition

scooter5791 Level 1
      I am just starting out with Flex 2.1 and I am going through the lessons in the Getting Started manual. I am working on the View State and Transitions lesson. The basic lesson works fine and clicking the Advanced Options linkbutton shows the Advanced state with WipeDown and Dissolve transitons as expected. Now I am trying to add an another transition to reverse the process when switching back to the base state and it isn't working and I am not exactly sure why. Code is below. Also I have a question about using the '*' wildcard - how can I name the defaut state instead of using a wildcard:

<mx:Transition id="transHideAdvanced" fromState="Advanced" toState="*">

Thanks is advance...

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" layout="absolute">

<!-- Define the view states -->
      <mx:states>
      <mx:State name="Advanced">
      <mx:AddChild relativeTo="{pnlMain}" position="lastChild">
      <mx:VBox x="20" y="160" width="160" height="80" id="vboxAdvanced">
      <mx:CheckBox label="Regular expression"/>
      <mx:CheckBox label="Case sensitive"/>
      <mx:CheckBox label="Exact phrase"/>
      </mx:VBox>
      </mx:AddChild>
      <mx:SetEventHandler target="{lnkAdvanced}" name="click" handler="currentState=''" />
      </mx:State>
      </mx:states>

<!-- Define transitions -->
      <mx:transitions>
      <!-- Define transition for showing Advanced Options VBox -->
      <mx:Transition id="transShowAdvanced" fromState="*" toState="Advanced">
      <!-- Define transition effects -->
      <mx:Parallel target="{vboxAdvanced}">
      <mx:WipeDown duration="300" />
      <mx:Dissolve alphaFrom="0.0" alphaTo="1.0" duration="300" />
      </mx:Parallel>
      </mx:Transition>
      <!-- Define transition for hiding Advanced Options VBox -->