5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2014 1:32 AM by cc_merchant

How to tell which disk sizes to get for RAID setup

bert nordstrom Level 1

Hello,

I am a beginner when it comes to PC builds but am still trying to learn.

I can't afford to not have reliable backups so I'd like to get into a RAID setup and from what I've read it will either be a RAID 3 or RAID 5.

If I want a strong system, it seems like I should be going for seven disks, plus the C drive (according to Harm's Generic Guideline for Disk Setup article: Generic Guideline for Disk Setup)

Other than the C drive, do I get the same size and brand disks across the board? If not, how do you know which size to get? What specific brands offer great value in 2014?

At the moment I have 240gb C drive and 2x1TB WD Caviar Black drives (media and projects on one, previews, media cache and exports on the other). I also have a 2TB WD Green Disk as a backup.

I have checked out many of the threads and am still getting my head around RAID configurations.

Thank you for helping,

Robert

• 1. Re: How to tell which disk sizes to get for RAID setup
          cc_merchant Level 4

For larger parity raids, enterprise drives are best. HGST Ultrastar, Seagate Constellation or WD RE.

As to size, that depends on your storage needs. Provided the controller has the necessary ports, you can always expand the array by adding extra disks, getting more speed and more space.

Also have a look at Tweakers Page and subsequent articles, where Harm has added and expanded on previous articles.

• 2. Re: How to tell which disk sizes to get for RAID setup
            Richard M Knight Adobe Community Professional & MVP