22 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2015 5:50 PM by Dustin Kerstein

Lightroom Mobile Sync - Extremely High CPU Usage/Sync Process Causes LR To Lag

jkuophoto

Since my other thread doesn't seem to be getting any responses, I'm pasting what I've found here. Please keep in mind I am not a beginner with Lightroom and consider myself very familiar with Lightroom's features excluding the new mobile sync.

1st message:

I'm on Lr 5.5 and using the 30 day trial of Adobe CC to try syncing one collection of slight more than 1000 images. Despite already having generated the Smart Previews, I can see my CPU crunching through image after image (the rolling hills pattern in the task manager) while doing the sync. I was assuming, since I already created the Smart Previews, that the sync of this collection would begin immediately and be done by simply uploading all of the existing Smart Previews. The Smart Previews folder of the catalog is 871MB and has stayed the same despite the CPU obviously doing *something*. As it is now, the sync progress is incredibly slow, almost at a pace like it's actually exporting full-res JPGs from the RAW images (as a comparison only, I know this should not be what it's actually doing).

Another side effect of this is that I'm basically unable to use my computer for other tasks due to the high CPU utilization.

Win 7 x64 / Lightroom 5.5

Intel i5 2500k OC'd 4.5GHz

16GB RAM

SSD for OS, separate SSD for working catalog and files

2nd message: