2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2014 5:07 PM by Dave LaRonde

Help with hand wave effect

ISuckatAE

Hey so I am really new to AE and the community and figured I could come here for some help with something I am trying to accomplish.

I have been a long time final cut user but have never really needed to use AE for my work.

Anyway, what I am trying to accomplish is a shot where I have a hand wearing a watch on the table, and the camera is steady directly above it looking down. Then I want the other hand of the person wearing the watch to come into the frame and wave over top of the watch and it changes color. I have two watches that are exactly the same, but just different colors. I presume I will need two shots, identical ones with each different color of watch. I need help creating this effect. I presume it is rather easy to accomplish...but I'm still really new like I said

Also, I know that this could just be done with the hand wave covering the whole frame of the shot, but I only want it to be a small part. Only the watch needs to change colors, the wrist and background should look almost untouched.

I hope I am explaining myself clearly enough.

If anyone has some advice or something like a video I could follow that would be greatly appreciated.

Let me know!

Thanks

• 1. Re: Help with hand wave effect
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP