1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 17, 2014 9:02 AM by Rick Gerard

Help adding a wavy background behind a video of a face

doctordanrobinson

Howdy!

This is probably an easy thing to do, but I'm new to After Effects and so I'm lost.  Please feel free to answer the question in detail like I'm dumb, because I am!!!

Here's the situation:  I have a video of a face, talking.  It's blacked out all around the face so just the face shows, floating in blackness.  Here's what I want to do:

1. I want to add a green background behind the face.

2. I'd like the background to be just slightly bigger than the face, but circular and show only a bit from behind the face around the edges.

3. And it'd be cool if the green circular background was moving (wavy).

This  is probably easy to do if I only knew AE better.  If it helps, I have a green circle made in Photoshop that I can use.  But how do I get it behind the face, and make it appear to move or be wavy?

I appreciate any help, and like I said, feel free to be as elementary as need be since I am new to AE (I know Premiere Pro pretty well though).

Thank you sincerely in advance!

Dan

• 1. Re: Help adding a wavy background behind a video of a face
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP