6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 26, 2007 8:02 AM by Blue_Pixel

importing classes into Flex apps

JediJon
      I am an experienced AS 2.0 writer, but I am new to Flex. In fact, I am in the process of taking the AS 3.0 training through Lynda.com with Joey Lott, a superb teacher in my opinion. However, the thing I am finding most confusing is knowing when to import a class and what to import. With 2.0, most of the classes are extending the MovieClip class, which is automatically imported into every Flash file. Now, it seems I have to import a new class just to accomplish the most simple tasks, like clicking a button, creating a button, or even going to a URL. I find it very frustrating that I cannot infer what classes to import, that I have to wait for an error which isn't intuitively written itself, much less WHEN to import anything. Does anyone have a suggested reading or tutorial that could help me get a grip on this seemingly declined feature of the language's evolution? Better yet, since I have not yet seen Flash 9, does Flash 9 continue to do much of its own class importation, and in the meantime am I just dealing with the hard knocks of Flex? Many thanks to anyone who's been in this boat and can lend me some encouragement.
        • 1. Re: importing classes into Flex apps
          peterent Level 2
          You will have to import a lot more classes in ActionScript 3. That's because the language has become more mature and having complete definitions makes the compiler work faster and generate better, more efficient code.

If you use Flex Builder 2, you'll get some help. For example, suppose you want to create a DataGridColumn in ActionScript, but you don't know what class to import. If you begin to type "var col:" when you hit the colon, FB will display a list of possible data types. If you scroll down that list (or start typing DataGridColumn) and select DataGridColumn, FB will add the import for you:

import mx.controls.dataGridClasses.DataGridColumn;