1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 20, 2014 2:28 PM by Rick Gerard

Best or latest After Effects

David Trap

Hey, guys.

I'm in the process of making my first amateur / home made movie, Our War, and I would like to edit it After Effects.

I have never used After Effects before, but wanted the best or latest After Effects there is on the market.

It's not all the time the newest versions are always the best, so I either want the best version or the latest version of After Effects.

It doesn't matter if it's complicated or not to learn, I will eventually learn my way around it.

As long as I can edit full HD videos, the movie will last an hour plus.

Because I've never used it before, I have no idea what I'm looking for, that's why I need your guys help to help me find the best / latest version possible.

Thank you

David.

• 1. Re: Best or latest After Effects
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

First, you do not want to edit in After Effects. It is not a non linear editor. I have been making films, editing films, producing visual effects professionally for 44 years and I would never attempt to edit a movie in After Effects. After Effects is for creating effects shots, motion graphics, short sequences and that is all. If you want to edit you need a NLE. Mocrosoft Movie Maker, iMovie will get you started with editing. Premiere Pro or even Premiere Essentials are what you want to use to edit.