15 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2014 2:04 PM by Robert Tausk

How to match sound track to movie pictures? (the sound track is shorter)

Robert Tausk

I have a sound (narrative) track of approx 1 hr which talks about the movie film. However the film I have, is a slightly different version, that is about 10 min longer then the sound track and I would like to restore the match, e.g. by something like cutting the sound track and inserting blanks, or cutting and moving the sound a couple of seconds. Note I'm totally new to Premiere V 10. I presume I would have to use start and end marks in the sound track and place the subsequent sound parts on a new sound (or narrative?) track (but it seems I will need to introduce additional silent parts, I cannot just move (drag?) the next sound track a couple of seconds to the left.
      I would guess there are a couple of easy tricks to achieve my goal.
      Thank you in advice.
      Rob Tausk

• 1. Re: How to match sound track to movie pictures? (the sound track is shorter)
          A.T. Romano Level 7

Robert Tausk

What computer operating system is your Premiere Elements 10 running on? Also indicate what video card/graphics card your computer uses. Those are background questions which may or may not be needed for your original question.

1. Open Premiere Elements 10 to the Timeline workspace and import your movie file and your narration file just in project media, not to the Timeline track.

2. Then, drag your movie file to Video Track 1, and there place unnumbered markers at the spots where you need a counterpart narration to be.

(If you have a numerical keyboard, move the Timeline Indicator from spot to spot, and at each spot hit the asterisk key of that numerical keyboard.

If not, then use program's Markers/TImeLine Marker/Set Timelink Marker/Unnumbered.)

3. Next double click the narration file in the project media to open the Preview Window with the Set In and Set Out points. Then trim the narration relevant