6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 22, 2014 9:14 PM by areohbee

LR 5 import as Fuji.RAF or DNG ?

errio

Hi there,

I'm a beginner with LR and also have a brand new Fuji X-T1 which I'm beginning to learn step by step.

Question: Is there a difference in importing RAW-files into LR5.5 between "Copy" or "Copy as DNG" ?

Slower/ Faster?

Difference in processing?

Difference in quality?

Thanks for your help....

Errio, France

• 1. Re: LR 5 import as Fuji.RAF or DNG ?
          Hal P Anderson Level 6

It's a bit slower: it takes time to convert to DNG.

No difference in processing or quality.

DNGs tend to be smaller than the RAFs they are created from, and they have a built-in checksum that Lightroom can check to make sure the image hasn't been corrupted.

Hal

• 2. Re: LR 5 import as Fuji.RAF or DNG ?
            errio Level 1

Hi Hal,

Thanks for your quick and fast reply.

All is clear to me!

bye, Errio

• 3. Re: LR 5 import as Fuji.RAF or DNG ?
              erudolph

Can, and in future will, the Adobe DNGs be readable as raw files by other raw file converters?

• 4. Re: LR 5 import as Fuji.RAF or DNG ?
                areohbee Level 5

erudolph wrote:

Can, and in future will, the Adobe DNGs be readable as raw files by other raw file converters?

Predictions of the future by users in this forum may not be accurate.

But right now, Adobe DNGs may not be readable by other raw converters.

I strongly recommend keeping the original raws to maximize odds you have something that will be readable.

Rob

• 5. Re: LR 5 import as Fuji.RAF or DNG ?
                  erudolph Level 1

Thanks for that Rob.  So you can either use the native raw format, or embed it along with the converted DNG?  Why not use the native format?

• 6. Re: LR 5 import as Fuji.RAF or DNG ?
                    areohbee Level 5

erudolph wrote:

Thanks for that Rob.

You're welcome erudolph.

erudolph wrote:

So you can either use the native raw format, or embed it along with the converted DNG?