22 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2014 10:17 AM by Helldoor

Automated Textbox in InDesign CS5 ?

Helldoor

Hi there,

I'm currently working on a portfolio in InDesign CS5. I have already made a small version of this portfolio in Illustrator CS5. As for I am a visual artist and most of my work are architectural visualisations, I have a very simple and minimalistic way of captioning my images - the image takes the whole page and a small caption bar on the side gives some title and customer info. Using Illustartor, I could simply lay a solid rectangle effect as a text backgorund, which would adjust to the text, the way I want (e.g. add 10mm on the left, +5mm on the right, ...). It doesn't matter how long my text will be - the 10mm to the left will always be there. It looks like this:

Indesign.jpg

As for this rectangular backgorund is a real solid shape, it allows further effects (such as shadows) and opacity adjustment.  However, I don't succeed in making the same in InDesign - ist impossible? And if not - how can I achieve that?

Thanks in advance,
      Helldoor

• 1. Re: Automated Textbox in InDesign CS5 ?
          Eugene Tyson Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I'm not really sure what you want to accomplish.

Can you it explain it a bit more?

• 2. Re: Automated Textbox in InDesign CS5 ?
            Helldoor Level 1

Well...

I'm making a portfolio in InDesign. It conains A4 pages in landscape format. Every single page is filled with an image and on the one side, there comes a small caption with some information about the certain image. Like this:
            Page.jpg