36 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2014 4:28 AM by JoeyJoeC

Can't override item on opposite page

JoeyJoeC Level 1

I have a master template which is a double page template.

I can override items on the left page just fine, but when I try to do it on the right side page, it keeps overriding the items that are on the background instead, and brings them to the front. I just want to override an image on top of the background image. Is this possible?

• 1. Re: Can't override item on opposite page
          Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

Do you work with layers?

• 2. Re: Can't override item on opposite page
            JoeyJoeC Level 1

I usually do in Photoshop, although I tend to avoid it in InDesign.

The layers from the master template won't show here until the layer is overridden anyway.

• 3. Re: Can't override item on opposite page
              Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Master objects are always behind other objects on the same layer, but overriding will bring them forward. It's not clear to me what the actual stacking order is now, and what order you want to achieve. You probably need layers.

• 4. Re: Can't override item on opposite page
                JoeyJoeC Level 1

I have an entire master template, complete with some background shapes, and text. The background shapes are right at the bottom of the layers.

When I drag down the master template to create a new set of pages, I can use SHIFT + CTRL and click on the textboxes on the left to override them. This works fine.

If I want to override the textboxes on the right hand side, it overrides those background layers instead. This happens to anything I try to override on the right hand side.

Work around would be to override everything, but this beats the point of being able to go back and make changes later.

• 5. Re: Can't override item on opposite page