3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2014 8:54 PM by JimHess

Droplets vs Export as Original?

jonathanpphoto

hey friends.

I'm fairly new to lightroom but have been using photoshop for a while now...

this is my question:

i want to use photoshop actions on my lightroom edited photos.

i have read about, and used to some extent droplets...writing action sets in photoshop and then creating a droplet and running that through the LR export dialog...however, i just can't seem to get it to work flawlessly.

i guess my question is...as i understand it, the export dialog creates a jpg and then opens this jpg in photoshop and runs the action. then resaves it as a jpg. if i understand this process, wouldn't that degrade the overall quality of the end result jpg?

would a better option, to maintain the highest quality, be to export as original from LR and then run the image processor with my actions from bridge/PS?

• 1. Re: Droplets vs Export as Original?
          JimHess Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The export dialogue does not automatically create a JPEG image. You can choose JPEG, TIF, PSD, 8-bit, 16-bit, increase/decrease size, etc. And, it's possible to export raw files as original. Essentially that is just a copy routine. So you can export your images as 16-bit TIF files, and then let your droplet do whatever you need done on that TIF file. Then, the droplet could save the result in what ever format you need.

• 2. Re: Droplets vs Export as Original?
            jonathanpphoto Level 1

hey jim

i totally get what you're saying...i guess i didn't think about it that way...

i was exporting a jpeg from lightroom first...i'm so used to the way the image processor works in PS.

if i was to export as a tiff and then run the droplet, it would save the tiff (straight from LR) and then as a jpg (from photoshop using my action set)...correct?