16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2014 12:09 PM by A.T. Romano

How do I restore media in Elements 12?

Zoe Young

I have reopened near completed project, all files unmoved since last edit, to find all media offline.

Attempting to restore, some of the files reconnect, but most give this error message: 'This type of file is not supported, or the required codec is not installed'.

Given that I'd been editing with them until lately and not made any changes to the set up, this doesn't make sense...

Has there been an update in the last few weeks, that means I I need to download some new codecs? If so, where do I find guidance to do this?

I am not very technically minded and new to Premiere (had used AVID up to now..) so could do with 'idiot-level' advice

Please help? Thanks!

• 1. Re: How do I restore media in Elements 12?
          A.T. Romano Level 7

Zoe Young

What you describe is the type of nasty media disconnect issues that are the consequence of moved, deleted, or renamed files/folders after the project was saved closed....not a codec issue.

If you know the existing files still exist, you can use the project "Where is the file.....?" messages to reconnect missing media. Or, use the Replace Footage feature which will replace the file but should replace the original file and retain the edits of that were made to that file before the media disconnect.

Please check out the following...

ATR Premiere Elements Troubleshooting: PE11: Replace Footage

Another source of the media disconnect issue is storage of the source media on an external hard drive that is for some reason spontaneously changing drive letters.

Keys to success..."Where is the file....?" message and making sure that you are pointing the message to the correct source file (name, type et al)

We will be watching for your progress.

Thank you.

ATR

For further reference....

Adobe Premiere Elements 11 * Archiving projects

• 2. Re: How do I restore media in Elements 12?
            helen zanzibar