5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2014 9:52 AM by Rick Gerard

New After Effects user needs to create 30 minute travel/news format show for IPTV.... needs some help on workflow

dlv3

I switched from Sony Vegas about 4 months ago to Premiere CC, and now in the last week have been teaching myself After Effects.

I am an Underwater Videographer, and the show is a travel format show for families interested in snorkeling and diving.

I have 2 computers with After Effects on it, a PC that it about to be upgraded massively--and is too weak to be useful now...and an Imac 27 with 16 gigs of ram.

In using the Imac, I am having all kinds of freezing issues now that I have the Virtual set templete for AE I bought, built out with my footage about 12 minutes.....\

Questions would be:

1. Do I need to create little 3 or 5 minute long segments in AE, then render each to a clip in Premiere...then build the 30 minute show in Premiere ?
      2. Does AE have problems with a 30 minute background video clip( all the u/w scenes the hosts will have playing behind them or on main screen--if I use about 20 instances of this clip on different parts of the template, each one just selecting a minute or so out of the clip....or..do I need to split this 30 minute clip up into the individual pieces, and use these with each segment of the show? Something is slowing and freezing my Mac, and I am wondering if it is this issue?
      3. If any of you have ever looked at the News room type virtual studio greenscreen templates for After Effects, then what I am into should make sense to you, and maybe someone will have some workflow suggestions.
      4. I am planning to have my PC upgraded to a MORE POWERFUL 64 bit  MACHINE WITH 32 GIGS OF RAM......I DO HAVE AN amd Radeon 6800 video card I am hoping will work ( given to me)....so that I get some GPU benefit.... Any thoughts on whether this will be better than the Imac ?