8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2014 8:34 PM by kritzberg

Lightroom vs Photoshop Elements Organizer

kritzberg Level 1

I don't know Lightroom, but a friend suggested it as a solution to my problem, so here goes:

I have a subscription to CC (and have used Creative Suite for years). I use CC at work, but for my personal, non-work photos, I have always used Photoshop Elements Organizer, because I have never found its equal -- as an organizer. Also, I have invested a massive amount of effort into tagging every photo (about 30,000 images, more than 10 years' worth) with keywords.

I have no interest in Photoshop Elements' other features. I have CC for anything that PSE does that I care to do.

However, I don't really want to keep shelling out for PSE, since I'm already paying (have paid) about a zillion dollars to Adobe over the years for Creative Suite and now CC.

So here's the question: Can I use Lightroom (or Bridge, perhaps) as a substitute for PSE Organizer? Does either program import PSE Organizer's catalogs? Because unless I can import what I've got, no other organizer will do it for me.

I'd also consider another organizer product if it could import PSE catalogs, but I'm hoping there's a little gem of a program already in CC that I'm not aware of that will do the trick.

TIA.

• 1. Re: Lightroom vs Photoshop Elements Organizer
          dj_paige Level 9

Lightroom does upgrade PSE catalogs for use in Lightroom. Give it a try. See if you like it.

• 2. Re: Lightroom vs Photoshop Elements Organizer
            kritzberg Level 1

Unfortunately, that didn't work so well.

Specifically, the import apparently eliminated the People Tag and the Groups underneath it, while keeping the Keywords for individual persons. However, several thousand pictures that had been filed under People now have no keyword associations at all.

Is this an incompatibility, or can I make these reappear by manipulating something in Lightroom?