10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2007 10:07 AM by miragevideo

Load,Edit and save XML file via Flex

XMLmaster
      Hi, I posted this question in the AS3 forum but I am not sure if that was the correct place;
      http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webforums/forum/messageview.cfm?forumid=60&catid=587&threadid =1267500&enterthread=y

Hi I am new to Flex and AS3 but I have some experience with XML, XSLT, XPATH, VB etc..

I am having trouble just loading the XML. How do I load an external XML file so I can edit it?

This is what I have so far:

<mx:Script>
      <![CDATA[
      var myxml = 'xml/request.xml';
      XML.ignoreWhitespace = true;
      var xml:XML = new(myxml);
      ]]>
      </mx:Script>

I recieve an error:

"TypeError: Error #1007: Instantiation attempted on a non-constructor."

Thanks in advance
        • 1. Re: Load,Edit and save XML file via Flex
          peterent Level 2
          Flex application run from within a browser have security restrictions. You cannot read or write local files; you can only send and receive data from the server. So your files have to live on a server. You request them at runtime using a data service, such as HTTPService.

If you have static XML files on the server, then code the HTTPService's url parameter to point to the XML file itself. Most likely you will want to load a file based on the user or something specific. In that case you will need some server-side code, such as PHP, Flex Data Services, IIS, Java servlets, etc.
          • 2. Re: Load,Edit and save XML file via Flex
            XMLmaster Level 1
            Thank you for the information. As I am currently evaluating Flex 2, I wll look into FLEX Data Services.

Thanks
            • 3. Re: Load,Edit and save XML file via Flex
              Anti-Girl
              How can an official adobe representative be so wrong?
              You can read an xml file locally, and possibly write.
              • 4. Re: Load,Edit and save XML file via Flex