10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2014 4:29 PM by A.T. Romano

importing avi files

Warrannz

Hi,  I have just downloaded premier elements and cannot add files.  I have tried importing .avi files which I believe are supported.  Also changed one file to wmv which I believe is also supported but still no joy.  I am a complete novice at this so totally stumped.

Grateful for any help thanks

• 1. Re: importing avi files
          Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Please move to Elements forum.

• 2. Re: importing avi files
            A.T. Romano Level 7

warrannz

What version of Premiere Elements are you working with and on what computer operating system?

Do you have the latest version of QuickTime installed on the same computer with Premiere Elements?

Are you running the program from a User Account with Administrative Privileges or after application of Run As Administrator to desktop icon?

Please detail where the import problem hits...

a. Cannot get file into program...hit with Importer Error

b. Get file to Timeline, but video and/or audio do not present

c. Other

What type of .avi are you trying to use? There are many kinds...the problem ones are usually

a. AVCHD.avi (will not import at all)

b. MotionJPEG.avi

c. Xivd or DivX.avi

More information is need from you to help us help you.

Please do not hesitate to tell us if you do not understand what is being asked. Your answers are important so we will rewrite to help you with the questions/answers if necessary.

Thank you.

ATR

• 3. Re: importing avi files
              Warrannz Level 1

Hi ATR,

I am using Premier elements 12 with windows 7 op system.

not sure about version of quicktime. I have installed the program and added a desktop icon (not sure if this answers your question).

I am cannot import the file, keep getting error message - this type of file is not supported , or the required codec is not installed.