6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2007 7:27 PM by Ann_Shelbourne

ideal set-up for color fidelity

jksdjkadfjksdfhsdfjh
      ok, i'm trying to find out the best settings for color fidelity between kular and adobe cs apps. i'm a print designer, so cmyk is where i need to be.

somewhere else on these forums, ann said the reason colors looked different was because browsers weren't color managed (and graphics apps WERE). she said to make sure the monitor was calibrated, and to use a 2.2 gamma setting (even though i've used 1.8 forever). i did that. she said to use the adobe srb profile and the colors should look close. i'm not sure which profile she's talking about (and i asked her via a p.m.),

there's srgb IEC, e-srgb, srgb, and adobe rgb. which is best to use if i want to see colors as close as possible in safari and pshop, illustrator, etc?

i made a new theme, then keyed in the values i saw in kuler into an rgb pshop file. not only were the colors off, but the cmyk colors changed after i applied them. i guess this is because it's an rgb file.

what are you guys doing to get colros as close as possible between kuler and pshop, etc? many thanks.
      marc
        • 1. Re: ideal set-up for color fidelity
          Ann_Shelbourne Level 1
          The first thing is to Calibrate your monitor and set-up Color Management in Photoshop.

Go to this web site and follow his instructions to the letter and you will be fine!

http://www.gballard.net/nca.html#getagoodscreen

srgbIEC61966 or "sRGB" in Photoshop are the same thing,

Safari is built to work in that space: and the old IE 5.5 (Mac) could be set to respect that space — but all the other Browsers work only in their owner's own Monitor Spaces.
          And you have zero control of what ever THAT might be like!).

But, if your own monitor is decently calibrated, you should see the Kuler colors fairly accurately in Safari.

Regarding CMYK: