0 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2007 7:28 AM by dolinja

Implementing scrolling with arrow keys on a DataGrid?

dolinja
      Hi all,

I'm a new developer to Flex and ActionSctript, have been using it for about a month now and am quite enjoying it. My question comes down to trying to implement a feature that will scroll a DataGrid horizontally using the right and left arrow keys when the DataGrid has focus.

I attached some event handlers to the KeyBoardEvent.KEY_DOWN of the DataGrid and started with a naive implementation:

switch (event.keyCode) {

case Keyboard.LEFT:
      horizontalScrollPosition -= 1;
      break;
      case Keyboard.RIGHT:
      horizontalScrollPosition += 1;
      break;
      }

This works reasonably and scrolls the DataGrid by one column for each keystroke. The problem is that when you scroll to the end of the grid, it can keep scrolling until you get this exception:

TypeError: Error #1010: A term is undefined and has no properties.
      at mx.controls::DataGrid/::calculateColumnSizes()
      at mx.controls::DataGrid/set horizontalScrollPosition()
      at components::CIDataGrid/::ciGridKeyDownHandler()

The next attempt was to try and test whether we were outside of the boundaries by not scrolling by keeping the horizontalScrollPosition between 0 and the max number of columns:

switch (event.keyCode) {

case Keyboard.LEFT:
      if (horizontalScrollPosition > 0)
      horizontalScrollPosition -= 1;
      break;
      case Keyboard.RIGHT:
      if (horizontalScrollPosition < this.columnCount)
      horizontalScrollPosition += 1;
      break;
      }